Swatantra Bharat Party

Home > Office Bearers


The party’s office bearers are listed below.  

Anil Ghanwat, President, Swatantra Bharat Party, From 28 March 2022

+91 99237 07646, Email id: ghanwatanil77@gmail.com 

Anil Ghanwat, former President of Shetkari Sanghatna (and now a senior leader of the Sanghatna) and former President of Swatantra Bharat Paksha (from 5 September 2021 to 27 March 2022), took over as President of the combined Swatantara Bharat Party from 28 March 2022.  Mr Ghanwat (B.Sc. Agriculture) is a farmer from SriGonda in Ahmednagar district in Maharashtra. Since 1985 he has been involved with the Shetkari Sanghatana farmers movement and has been associated closely with the development of Swatantra Bharat Paksha, founded in 1994 by Sharad Joshi. Anil Ghanwat is a keen supporter of the (classical) liberal ideology, – the ideology that underpins the Ambedkar Fundamental Rights of India’s Constitution – rights that have been eradicated by Nehru, Indira Gandhi, Janata Party and now the BJP.

Sanjay Garg (Jaipur),Vice President, Swatantra Bharat Party (formerly Swarna Bharat Party), From 1 January 2020 – current

+91 9829157043

Sanjay Garg is a former mechanical engineer who came to value liberty through his own thinking and experience. He came across Swarna Bharat Party and decided to join it, given its determination to fight for Indians liberty. He decided in mid-2016 to devote his entire time and energy to the development of the party in Rajasthan. Sanjay Garg runs the Centre for Policy Solutions and is active in RTI related matters.

Pankaj Das (Guwahati), Secretary, Swatantra Bharat Party

+91 97060 49270, Email id: daspankaj01@gmail.com 

Pankaj Das has spent almost all his working life in schools – as teacher, Vice Principal, Principal, and now Director, Modern English School, Kahilipara, Guwahati. He is also currently the President, All Assam Private Schools Association and the Assam representative of National Independent Schools Association. Before joining the Modern English School he had worked in an NGO for three years. During that period he realised that India needs to change its policies. He came across SBP’s work through an article in Times of India and has decided that Swarna Bharat Party offers India the kind of policies he wants.

Pankaj Das was President of the pre-merger Swarna Bharat Party from 1 March 2020 -27 March 2022

Founder Treasurer: Sureshan Payyaratta, New Delhi (2013 – current)

The media is invited to contact the office bearers by writing to info@swatantra.org.in


Sanjeev Sabhlok (Melbourne), Adviser and mentor, sabhlok@gmail.com, From 1 June 2013 – Current

Sanjeev worked in the IAS from 1982 to January 2001, when he resigned to focus on providing India with a liberal political alternative. He is author of Breaking Free of Nehru (Anthem Press, 2008) and Discovery of Freedom (manuscript) and a  columnist in the Times of India, with a blog called Seeing the Invisible. He also writes for other newspapers and magazines. His book on economics for children is entitled, Seeing the InvisibleHe has worked as an economist in Australia. He floated the Freedom Team of India (FTI) in December 2007. Swarna Bharat Party is an offshoot of the Freedom Team. 



Founder President: Dipinder Sekhon – from 1 June 2013 to 29 February 2020

Former President: Pankaj Das – from 1 March 2020 -27 March 2022

Former Working Presidents:

Rahul Pandit (currently State Coordinator for Telangana) From July 2017 to 29 February 2020.

Sanjay Sonawani (currently State Coordinator for Maharashtra) From July 2016 to June 2017  


Founder Vice-President 

PK Sabhlok – from 1 June 2013 to 31 December 2019

Previous Working Vice Presidents

Alok Singh (left the party in April 2017 due to ill-health)


Abdul Aziz Choudhury from 1 January 2020 to 27 March 2022  

Bhoopendra Singh Kanaujia – from 2016 to 31 December 2019

Founder Secretary: K K Verma, from 1 June 2014 to 2016.